Mary Draper - a sad life.

Discussion in 'Wiltshire' started by The Artful Dodger, May 8, 2014.

1. The Artful Dodger

The Artful Dodger Dodging, ducking and diving

In the past, both on Top Dog and on another forum, I have made references to Mary - my 3rd Great-grandmother.

Much of what I had developed had been has been added to my 'public' tree but has now been refuted by a person who claims my detail is suspect and so I am going to ask for assistance here and hopefully resolve the issue once and for all.

According to Wiltshire FHS Mary was born 2 July 1797. They advised that the image of the baptism register was in poor condition and that the place of baptism and other details could not be ascertained. I accepted this and couldn't get back further. Her later life was quite sad, hence the thread title.

My contact has now stated that the baptism was held 2 July 1797 in West Lavington, Wiltshire and her parents were John Draper - a Carter by trade - and Elizabeth [Betty] Sainsbury who were married on 24 May 1795 in West Lavington. West Lavington does not have a OPC and so, having already contacted Wiltshire FHS, I cannot approach them once again.

Can anyone assist on this?

Stafford likes this.
  2. Daft Bat

Daft Bat Administrator. Chief cook & bottle washer! Staff Member

I am confused, Colin. o_O

According to post number 8 in this thread, you stated that Wiltshire FHS said that she was baptised on 2nd July 1797.

Are you asking for assistance in confirming whether she was born or baptised on that date?

3. The Artful Dodger

Sorry Jan.

Originally, I had it from Wiltshire FHS that it was a baptism and later I got a correction that it could have been her date of birth, so I am trying to determine what exactly does the baptism record indicate.

I think that viewing the original rather than a film or a transcription may help.

4. Daft Bat

Daft Bat Administrator. Chief cook & bottle washer! Staff Member