Midlands Electoral Registers

Discussion in 'British Electoral Rolls' started by CaroleF, Mar 5, 2017.

1. CaroleF

CaroleF Well-Known Member

I have been trying to trace several family members in Birmingham using Electoral Registers on both Ancestry (I have a subscription) and the Midlands Historical Data site. The second I find easier to use/find people, though a charge is involved.

I have been looking at records between 1925 and 1965. They have generally proved very useful in supporting the 'who lived where' family stories, but show someone at a particular address in 1960 and 1962 when I had thought they died in 1957 or 1958. I have yet to 'prove' when this person died but have recently sent off for 2 death certificates (1957 and 1958) only to find this same person apparently alive in 1960 and 1962!

So ..... does anyone know how reliable these Electoral Rolls are? Or how frequently they were updated back then? If the authorities were not informed of a death or change of residence did they assume the same people lived there from one year to the next?

Any helpful observations gratefully received.
    Carole

2. Sis

Sis Rootles out resources!

Different country but I worked for short while for our Electoral Commission and they only make changes to the electoral rolls/registers when advised by the person concerned or family if someone dies

Half Hour and CaroleF like this.
  3. mikejee

mikejee Well-Known Member

I'm pretty sure a separate form was sent out every year. I suppose if the people did not bother to return it then the entry might be just repeated, but don't think it was policy to do so.

CaroleF likes this.
  4. CaroleF

The same as in the USA then (and the basis I think for Trump's claims of 'electoral fraud') Seems an odd way of going about things to me. Is that *still* the case in Australia?

Sis likes this.
  5. CaroleF