Perry (and other spellings of the name)

Discussion in 'Cumberland' started by popsit, Oct 1, 2015.

1. popsit

popsit Member

Hello all,

This is my first time on this forum so I hope I am doing things correctly. This is definitely a brickwall so if I am in the wrong place asking the wrong question please point me on where to go.
    This is mostly in Cumberland. Here goes.The name I am researching is Perry and all its variations.

I have a Mungo (again lots of variations) Perry who may or may not be married to a Jane ??. Jane was born approx 1703 probably in Cumberland. Nothing on Mungo except a death in 1778 15th May in Whitehaven. Mungo is the brickwall in that we think he was more than likely a seaman of sorts and possibly came from Scotland originally. That is possibly how he met Jane. Jane died in workington 2nd April 1781 aged 78.
    Mungo and J ane had the following children:
    Henry b. 1733
    Mary b. 1734 9th dec.
    William b. 1736 9th sept.
    John b. 1738 3rd Aug
    Mungo b. 1740 7th sept
    James b. 1747 30th Aug
    We think mungo would be going backwards and forwards on a ship between Scotland and Whitehaven as Whitehaven was quite a port back then. I do have somewhere in my notes of mungo in a boarding house at some stage, probably overnight stays for seaman.So my query is:
    what was Janes surname was she a perry or just the children. Where was mungo born.Where did Jane live all those years she was having children etc. Anything anyone can come up with would be really really appreciated. All the children were born in Workington, St Micheal.

POPSIT/NZ

Ma-dotcom and GrannyBarb like this.
  2. Ma-dotcom

Ma-dotcom A Bonza Little Digger!

You're doing fine so far Popsit & very well to have so many baptisms. I found only 4 in the 1840s on Familysearch, so not much help from there. Let's hope there are other gems to discover.

3. Archie's Mum

Archie's Mum Always digging up clues

Family Search has given up...so far