1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Photo Date?

Discussion in 'Ask The Experts' started by Andrew Davies, Nov 11, 2017.

1. Andrew Davies

Andrew Davies Well-Known Member

Can anyone hazard a guess at the rough year of this photo from the attire?
    20171111_155500.jpg

Ma-dotcom and Archie's Mum like this.
  2. arthurk

arthurk Well-Known Member

I'm not very good on clothing, but from a quick glance at a couple of books I'd hazard a guess at about 1850-1870. (Hairstyle can also be a good indicator of date, but I'm not very good at that either.)

The dark (?black) dresses, sad faces and fairly prominent wedding ring suggest to me that this could be a mother and child in mourning. The flowers that the girl is holding are almost certainly significant: they've been hand-coloured to make them more prominent, but as well as that there was a whole language of flowers. If they can be identified, it should be possible to decode some meaning from them.

Finally, the physical image itself can provide good dating clues. Printing processes changed over time, as did the medium (glass, card etc), and the size and style of mount. So if you're able to scan the whole mount, and anything on the back, and tell us its size, that might be helpful.

3. MollyMay

MollyMay Knows where to find the answers!

This site might help
    Code:
    http://freepages.family.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~victorianphotographs/

Mods - I tried to break the link (honest) but never seem to get it right, so if it needs breaking, please can you help?
    (Sorted ;))

Half Hour and Andrew Davies like this.
  4. Andrew Davies

Wow that has given me a lot to think about. I didn't realise there could be so much to a photo. The frame looks like a slate back and enclosed with glass at the front. This pic shows relative size to my hand. 20171111_181321.jpg

Sis, Chimp, Ma-dotcom and 3 others like this.
  5. Ma-dotcom