Sealed Will in London for someone who died in Glasgow in 1936

Discussion in 'Wills & Probate' started by Mary Devine, May 23, 2018.

1. Mary Devine

Mary Devine New Member

Greetings everyone
    I'm new to the group and have a problem that I cant seem to solve. I have been discovering my ancestors for several years now and can't solve a puzzle. So maybe someone can enlighten me on English rules etc and shed some light on this issue.

My Great, great grandmother - Sarah Elizabeth Jones (nee May) who was born in 1863 at East Bergholt, Suffolk, England and died in Glasgow on the 20th October 1936.

Her husband was (as it turned out) a bit of a rouge who managed to hoodwink the wealthy of some of their wealth and die in 1904 ... leaving Sarah and his family (from a previous marriage) and Sarah's 3 children "dropped in the deep end" so to speak.

There were quite a few properties at the end of the day (10 and counting in 1905) and a pay out to the family to get rid of them from Kent in 1917, so I know that Sarah would have left quite an estate as she had some fairly good business skills. Her 2 daughters married late and had no children and her son was shipped off to Australia at around 1909 where he married and had 3 children of his own.

After the death of his wife in 1926 he surrendered his children to his deceased wife's family and disappeared until his death in 1959. He didn't do too well and basically lived like a pauper. His daughter, my grandmother, had nothing to do with him - hence the solving of the mystery.

I'm just so curious as to this Sealed Will in London dated 30 January 1937.
    Was this sealed Will with a Solicitor of with a Government Department?
    Also stated on the Probate notice was "Confirmation of Marjorie Alice McKie and Stephen Cosh, Solicitor" - Marjorie was her daughter and I'm wondering if Marjorie and Stephen Cosh were Executors .. or not?

How do get a copy of this Will as it might point to more information.