The Mysterious John BOWNESS

Discussion in 'Cumberland' started by Figgs, May 5, 2013.

1. Figgs

Figgs Well-Known Member

I have been hunting for his birth data for many years. I have his wife, his children, his marriage, his occupation and his death......but no clue as to where he came from.

We are talking roughly 1730 to 1740 for a birth year......just a guess. He somehow ended up in Flimby and after a long search and the help of a Tasmanian researcher, would you believe......I found their marriage (in the wrong parish book of course) to Mary Allanby of Flimby.

There are some Bownesses in the wee town of Flimby, but I don't think he is a close relation. He and Mary moved to Whitehaven and had several children. In 1766 they had the first..."John Allanby Bowness"...ok that ties in with the mother's maiden name. Son John A. didn't marry till he was around 52 and died a year later. He worked as an Agent for Lord Lowther, the coal mine magnate. I have letters from John Allanby Bowness to Lord Lowther. He named a John Benn as executor of his Will.

Mary Allanby Bowness died roughly in 1801.....I have her Will which was proved in 1803. In it she names various sons and daughters and they were rather wealthy as she left the girls 150 GBP each, along with ball gowns.

Son #2 was William Bowness, born in 1768 and he is the one that I descend from. He moved in the very late 1700's to Kirkton, Scotland, just north of Dumfries. We have all stayed in the house he bought in 1795 and were just enthralled. The church is across the street and the tombstone has to be 15 feet tall and names many Bownesses. (frugal Scots??). Two of his sons and a daughter came to Prince Edward Island in Canada in 1827 and were considered pioneers there. My father was the first to leave PEI.